WHAT'S THE BEST LINUX BASED OS FOR DELL LATITUDE D810 LAPTOP

So I have this old laptop that nobody is using. I was thinking of getting a laptop for some school work. I currently have Windows XP installed on it and it works fine but I would like an OS that is more up to date and able to run newer programs. I was thinking of installing Linux ubuntu on it cause it's a lightweight OS. I'm planning to use MS Office on it and play some old games on it like Rome total war and Age of Empires 1 and 2.. I'll also use some programs for the school like Virtual Workbench for my projects and watch youtube videos. I've never tried to install Linux before so any help would be appreciated. Basically, I'm looking for an OS that doesn't require many resources, is similar to windows and doesn't prevent any devices from working properly (I have some issues with the speakers and wifi).

You do know that you're not going to be able to get Office on Linux right? If you've never used Linux before I recommend going with something like Ubuntu, Ubuntu GNOME, or Mint (these are just a few distros I know off the top of my head).

I actually couldn't underclock my 5 year old GPU to make it as slow as a next-gen console.

#pcmasterraceproblems

~Slick

My only experience with Linux is Ubuntu and I personally have enjoyed using the OS. The main thing I wanted to chime in on is that you can not natively run Windows programs, such as the MS Office suite, without a program called Wine. Which for some is a little burdening, and depending on the game could make it run poorly.  

Linux Mandriva or Mageia is similar to Windows. Our school pc's had them and it was ok. Ubuntu is good, but not as similar to Windows as Mandriva/Mageia. Linux can't run .exe files, so you must use some programmes like Wine.

Maybe Lubuntu?

Because actually there's plenty of good linux distros that do use a bit more resources. Though that's due to them being more intended for modern hardware.

Just now, failblox said: