Cpu gpu combined heat sink: does it exist?

Alex Peterson

Hey all, I looked around a decent bit but was never able to find anything resembling a combined cooler for gpu and cpu - basically a heat sink with 2 places to attach processors, preferably at 90 degrees from each other.

I'm relatively new to building computers trying to figure out a good mini ITX build, and it's not hard to see from my first computer that most of the space inside the computer is simply empty or large heatsinks.  After Apple came out with their Mac Pro with a single "thermal core" I was wondering if anything similar existed for PC builders?  Naturally it would involve some decent modification to my graphics card, which I would be willing to put in the time to learn.

Alternatively, I was thinking about slotting together 2 dual tower heatsinks perpendicular to each other (all these would involve some form of PCI extension and custom case) with a pusher fan in front of whichever ended up in front, a puller fan behind whichever ended up in the back, and some form of shroud to keep the air flowing through the now gridded channel.

The ultimate goal is to make everything as compact as possible, with simplicity and rigidity as a hopeful consequence.  In the spirit of that, it would also be nice as a bonus if the PSU cover could be removed and passively cooled by the now single airflow channel through the center of the case, but I may be asking too much.

Any reply welcome, thanks!

You could just leave the original heatsink on it

Processor i5 4440 Graphics Card GTX 980ti Motherboard MSI B85M-G43 Memory 8GB Storage 1TB HDD Power Supply XFX TS 750W Case Fractal Design Core 1300

concerning the psu cover. safety wise it is best to leave them on, as the capacitors are essentially a "potentially" lethal shock charge.