Is my video card actually dead?

chesleywan

Parents had troubles with the HTPC today. It's a Shuttle SG41J4 w/ an E5700, 2x2GB DDR3, Kingston 64GB SSD, and this Gigabyte HD6850. Boots fine but wouldn't go more than 5 minutes without getting a BSOD. Windows listed the cause as a "Video hardware error".

IMG_20130919_205441_zps15514d04.jpg

I tried to update the drivers, but it would still give me a BSOD before I could install anything to completion. I pulled the card out of the machine and noticed the back side had some brown substance forming all around the card, but primarily around this particular spot. 

IMG-20130919-WA0005_zps3b55e8fe.jpg

There were no visual defects when it was actually running. What do you guys think? Is it actually done?

What CPU are you using?

"It pays to keep an open mind, but not so open your brain falls out." - Carl Sagan.

"I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you" - Edward I. Koch

uhhhhhhh im not a GPU expert but you MAY have a problem....

RMA that hoe

Big Bertha3570k @ 4.5GhzASRock Fatal1ty Z777970 DCUII TOP EVGA GTX 780Swiftech H220 w/ NF-F1216GB RAM128GB Kingston HyperX 3K1TB Western Digital Black40GB Western Digital Raptor 10K PeripheralsMionix 3200 MouseCMStorm Quickfire Rapid w/ Cherry MX Blues2 x Dell U2713HM AudioAsus ROG Orion Pro HeadsetSony XB-500AKG K240Bose AE2i​Fiio E10

Samsung Galaxy S45.0" 1920x1080p Super AMOLED screen16GB Storage2600 mAh battery1.9Ghz quad-core Krait CPU2GB RAMCyanogenMod CameraNikon D310018x55mm NIKKOR VR Lens14.2 MP

is that...corrosion?

| 5820k+EK supremacy nickel+acetal white 4.5Ghz | X99 Deluxe | Enthoo Luxe | 2x gtx780+komod NV full cover block | Corsair AX1200i | WD blue 500gb |

Kingston V300 120gb | Samsung 840 Evo 500gb| Bitspower D5 vario+Res combo | primochill advanced LRT tubing (Solid White) |

| Alphacool Nexxos MONSTA dual 120mm Black Ice nemesis GTX360 triple 120mm | Noctua NF-F12 X4 | Bitspower true silver 1/2ID 3/4 OD compressions (various angles) |