21:9 vs 2x 16:9, 1080 vs 1440

Donut417

I have roughly 2600 USD coming back to me from Taxes. Ive considered a few items that I might want to buy, Im still narrowing it down. Here is what I have http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009483

Its been a great 23 inch monitor but I find that when I have 2 items open side by side its not always the best experience. See Im a student. So some times ill have my work open and a E book. First of all is a 21:9 monitor better than 2 16:9 monitors? Also is 1440p worth the price? Can a HD7950 do 1440p? 

I used to have a dual monitor setup with my TV. The only issue is my tv is on the wall to the right of me. Its not in the same sight line as my monitor. I plan on hooking my TV up to my computer for Netflix and such, but thats the only thing I plan on using it for. 

Current setup: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/8zDrdC

I just want to sit back and watch the world burn. 

for the aspect ratio it really depends on what you like i recommend going to a store and checking them both out . for example i dont like 21:9 i feel like its to wide and not tall enough but i doubt your hd7950 can do 1440p. i would recommend getting a 970 or 380x minimum that way you can play on high settings  

Project Iridium:   CPU: Intel 4820K   CPU Cooler: Custom Loop  Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Black Edition   RAM: Avexir Blitz  Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD and Seagate Barracuda 3TB HDD   GPU: Asus 780 6GB Strix   Case: IN WIN 909   PSU: Corsair RM1000      Project Iridium build log http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/451088-project-iridium-build-log/

I really suggest 2 16:9 1440p 27 inch monitors for productivity, you'll still make off cheaper than a 1440p 21:9.

If you do 21:9, I don't suggest 1080p unless it's only for gaming, it's really awkward productivity wise as it's lacking vertical real estate compare to the 1440p version. Pretty nice for gmaing though