I Want to Make an Episode Tracker

IvanSnipedYu

I'm currently a 1st year student at a college and am trying to be a computer science major. I'm currently learning MySQL (Relational Database and SQL). However, I have not taken any Visual Basic or other type of programming language courses yet (they were all full). However, I want to take this chance to get some experience. 

Here what I want to do:

I want to make a Show & Episode Tracker. Kinda useless I know, but I thought this would be a good place to start.

I want to make something like this but on PC using VB
575b24bdf9.png

3143f11c43.png

I'm not asking you to make something for me. I'm trying to ask someone to lead me down the direction I should be heading. You might tell me to read some book and learn how to use VB. I probably will, but even so I'm not sure what books are good (I also suck at learning with books). I will also be taking a course on this later on in my years in school. But, for now I'm just look to learn and a direction to head towards.

| i7 4790k | H100i | 16GB (8x2) Corsair Vengence | EVGA GTX 780 SC | ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark I | Samsung 840 120GB | WD 2TB Green x2 | Rosewill Hive 750W | 

Why Visual Basic? Why not a more simple language first?

Sig under construction.

Why Visual Basic? Why not a more simple language first?

Is there a better programming language I should start with? I only choose Visual Basic because I'm planning on taking a Visual Basic course next school year.

| i7 4790k | H100i | 16GB (8x2) Corsair Vengence | EVGA GTX 780 SC | ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark I | Samsung 840 120GB | WD 2TB Green x2 | Rosewill Hive 750W | 

Is there a better programming language I should start with? I only choose Visual Basic because I'm planning on taking a Visual Basic course next school year.

I would start with Python or something personally.

Sig under construction.

I would start with Python or something personally.