Finalizing 4690K overclock

nims0c

I'm new to overclocking so I followed LTT's Devil's Canyon overclocking video guide. With CPU Core Ratio set to Sync All Cores and CPU Core Voltage set to Manual Mode, I found 4.5 GHz with 1.25V to be stable throughout an 8 hour Aida64 stress test. HWMonitor showed max temps of 77 on 2 of the 4 cores, so I don't know if I want to push the voltage any higher. 4.6 GHz was unstable at 1.25V, and 4.7 GHz even more so even at 1.275V so I kinda gave up there.

Should I stress test more, for 24 hours like Linus mentions?

Last step would be to switch CPU Core Voltage to Adaptive Mode, correct?

i5-4690K@4.5 GHz // Asus Z87-Pro // HyperX Fury 8GB DDR3-1600 // Crucial BX100 250GB // Sapphire Nitro R9 390 // EVGA SuperNOVA 750W G2 // Fractal Design Define S // be quiet! Pure Rock & Pure Wings 2 // BenQ XL2730Z // Corsair Vengeance K70 // Logitech G403 Wireless // Sennheiser HD 598 SE

I'm new to overclocking so I followed LTT's Devil's Canyon overclocking video guide. With CPU Core Ratio set to Sync All Cores and CPU Core Voltage set to Manual Mode, I found 4.5 GHz with 1.25V to be stable throughout an 8 hour Aida64 stress test. HWMonitor showed max temps of 77 on 2 of the 4 cores, so I don't know if I want to push the voltage any higher. 4.6 GHz was unstable at 1.25V, and 4.7 GHz even more so even at 1.275V so I kinda gave up there.

Without a better cooling solution you'll hit a thermal limit fairly quickly. That being said nothing will stress your system more than AIDA or XTU, except maybe x264 encoding. You could give 1.3-1.35v a go, just keep temps under ~85C. Some Haswell/DC chips just aren't going to be able to hit those voltages without a delid, regardless of cooling solution.

24hr stress tests are unnecessary IMO. It would be better to run real-world benchmarks like ASUS Real Bench, play some games for a few hours, watch YouTube/Hulu/Netflix, etc. Just use your computer as you would normally and note any problems you come across.