What Should I Upgrade?

PooPotato

After Christmas I will have a little bit of money on my hands (approx. $350), and I am thinking about upgrading my PC in one way or the other.  Here are my specs:

MB: MSI Gaming 970

CPU: AMD FX 8350 (w/ Cooler Master Seidon 120m)

GPU: MSI Radeon R9 280

RAM: 16GB G.Skill

HDD: WD Caviar Blue 1TB

SSD: SanDisk 128 GB

PSU: EVGA Supernova NEX 650G

Case: Thermaltake Overseer RX-1 Snow Edition

Things I'm happy with:

PC starts up at lightning speed

Extremely cool temps

Things I'm unhappy with (generally gaming gripes):

Shadow settings destroy my performance on some of my games.  I have to leave them turned off or the game is unplayable.

Underwhelming performance on newer games (Battlefield 4, Star Wars Battlefront).

I'm assuming that most of these problems would be alleviated with a better GPU, and I do have one in mind (MSI Radeon R9 390, $330 on Newegg).  However, I am relatively new to PC building/gaming in general (I finished my first build in September), so  my knowledge of this subject is rather limited.  I would love to hear feedback on this.

After Christmas I will have a little bit of money on my hands (approx. $350), and I am thinking about upgrading my PC in one way or the other.  Here are my specs:

MB: MSI Gaming 970

CPU: AMD FX 8350 (w/ Cooler Master Seidon 120m)

GPU: MSI Radeon R9 280

RAM: 16GB G.Skill

HDD: WD Caviar Blue 1TB

SSD: SanDisk 128 GB

PSU: EVGA Supernova NEX 650G

Case: Thermaltake Overseer RX-1 Snow Edition

Things I'm happy with:

PC starts up at lightning speed

Extremely cool temps

Things I'm unhappy with (generally gaming gripes):

Shadow settings destroy my performance on some of my games.  I have to leave them turned off or the game is unplayable.

Underwhelming performance on newer games (Battlefield 4, Star Wars Battlefront).