Can't Install Ubuntu Server

Hey folks,

I was just trying to install Ubuntu Server on my new home server (well, actually it's not completed yet, just installing the OS). I start with the bootable USB in the motherboard and I get the preliminary Gigabyte Ultra Durable Dual UEFI BIOS thing, and then straight to a black screen with this text on it:

GNU GRUB Version 2.02~ beta 2-9

Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB
   lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists possible
   device or file completions.

grub>_

I'm a Linux newbie, so could I please get some help? I'm planning to install it on a SanDisk USB flash drive that I'll just keep in the back of the machine. 

Specs:

Pentium G3240 with a stock cooler

8GB (2x4GB) of Crucial Ballistix Sports RAM

Corsair CX430

Currently the board is sitting on top of it's box now, and I'm putting it on by shorting out two pins with a screwdriver.

Currently in the board I have plugged in:

Ubuntu Server bootable USB

Formatted USB (Installing Ubuntu Server on it)

HDMI-Out

Wireless receiver for a wireless Logitech mouse and keyboard (http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Wireless-Combo-MK270-Keyboard/dp/B00BP5KOPA/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1438090031&sr=8-2&keywords=wireless+logitech+keyboard)

8 pin CPU connector

24 pin ATX connector

Any help is appreciated, I'm more of a hardware guy, so I'm learning a lot by doing things like this.

Thanks! 

<Insert joke here>

First off, if you are not getting to the installer then it is likely an issue with your bootable medium.

Do you have the correct version (eg. 32 vs 64-bit)? If so, what version of Ubuntu are you running?

Could there be a problem creating the bootable media? I prefer a program called YUMI.

~Judah

i see two possible issues here: either your bootable usb doesnt boot correctly, or your system doesnt detect the bootable usb correctly.

i'm putting my money on the first one.