Cheaper alternative to external RAID 1?

Hello,

First off I want to tell that I'm very new to this with RAID and I'm not sure of how everything works in a software/hardware level, apart from that I know the basic differences between different RAID-configs (thank you wikipedia).

Now the question: Is there a cheaper alternative to external RAID-controllers?

My case:

I photograph and do video, and I've collected quite a lot of material soon to fill up my 1 TB of data. I want to expand the storage to 2 TB, but to have so many eggs in the same basket is dangerous without a backup. Even if the photos and videos were divided onto different disks they still can fail one and one, and every single photo that is not a product pic is irreplaceable imho.

So I want an automated backup system that is not affected by whichever computer I plug it into.

Now from what I understand, if I use the Windows software RAID it only works with the correct computer - i.e. the one that you set up the RAID - or have I misunderstood the concept here?

My storage plan:

2 x 2 TB 3.5" HDD 7200 RPM in RAID 1 to ensure backup.

PROBLEM: This is a really, REALLY expensive setup, and I'm looking for alternatives that could do what I want without costing a kidney or two.

Spoiler

Mobo: Asus Z370-A Prime

CPU: Intel i7 8700K

RAM: Kingston Fury 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz CL16 Beast

GPU: Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080Ti Xtreme Edition 11GB

Case: Fractal Define R6 Tempered Glass, Black

SSD 1: Crucial P3 1TB M.2 PCIe Gen 3 NVMe SSD

SSD 2: Samsung 850 EVO 1TB

SSD 3: Crucial MX500 500 GB

HDD: Seagate Barracuda ST4000DM005 64MB 4TB 7200 rpm

PSU: Corsair RM750X v2

Display 1: AOC Agon AG271QG

Display 2: Dell U2711

CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Nepton 240M AIO

Mouse: Logitech G502 Proteus Core

Keyboard: Cooler Master CM Storm Trigger Z w/ Cherry MX Brown

Speakers: Creative Gigaworks T40 Series II

Soundcard: Creative AE-5 Soundblaster

Headphones: Sennheiser RS 165 Wireless