DEFECTIVE PSU ? Corsair 600w modular

BathSaltZombie
Go to solution Solved by BathSaltZombie,

thanks a lot guys. I freak out cuz i spent lots of money on my pc and its my first build, im noob.

Fellas,

just built new pc.  I've noticed a super annoying sort of buzz noise with my psu.  For example every time i open a file or click a link theres a faint buzz noise, almost like something is caught in the fan but there isn't..  is this normal?  this is a corsair CX600M modular PSU, 600 watts. 

i5 4690k 

EVGA GTX 960

8GB vengeance 1866mhz

gigabyte z97mx 

samsung SSD

600w psu 

windows 7

- This was a pretty expensive psu made by corsair.. i wouldn't think it would make noticeably annoying sounds.  Especially when it claims to be silent...

Should i take it back or what, anyone else experienced this?  

If you still have warranty you can contact corsair about it

<THE SILENT ASSASSIN>CPU(Intel i5-4690K)||COOLER(corsair H100i)||MOB(asus Maximus VII Hero ATX)||RAM(16gb of corsair vengeance)||STORAGE(Intel 530 128gb)(Samsung 850 Pro 500gb)(WD 2tb Black)||GRAPHICS(2 x Asus strix 970)||CASE(Nzxt H440)||PSU(Corsair RM750W)>http://pcpartpicker.com/b/Bbpbt6

My corsair rm750w PSU is silent

<THE SILENT ASSASSIN>CPU(Intel i5-4690K)||COOLER(corsair H100i)||MOB(asus Maximus VII Hero ATX)||RAM(16gb of corsair vengeance)||STORAGE(Intel 530 128gb)(Samsung 850 Pro 500gb)(WD 2tb Black)||GRAPHICS(2 x Asus strix 970)||CASE(Nzxt H440)||PSU(Corsair RM750W)>http://pcpartpicker.com/b/Bbpbt6

A sound clip would be helpful. Not to mention that this problem is already being covered in your gtx 960 thread.

Could it be coil whine?

It is quite possible to be coil wine yes