Smart to start with C++?

CookieTheMonsta

Hello, well I would like to learn programming, so I want to start somewhere, and on my first year of college we started with C. I never did any programming ever, so I didn't really get it, it was just boring haha (probably teachers fault). So I would like to do it on my own, and my question is should I start with C++? Or is it too hard, for a total newbie. I would use lynda.com videos to start and probably finish the course, just don't want to throw money on it, and then realize it was a waste.

[spoiler= My "gaming rig" ]

• CPU: Intel i5 2500
  • Motherboard: Asrock B75M-GL R2.0
  • RAM: 1x4 GB 1333 Mhz Kingston, 1x4 GB 1333 Mhz Transcend
  • GPU: MSI GTX 770 Gaming OC 2 GB
  • Case: Zalman Z3 plus white
  • Storage: WD Blue 500 GB, WD Black 1 TB
  • PSU: LC POWER 650W ATX v2.3 80+ bronze
  • Display(s): Acer V223HQ
  • Cooling: Scythe SCKTN-3000
  • Keyboard: CoolerMaster QuickFire TK MX blue
  • Mouse: Sharkoon Fireglider Laser Mouse

Wait, so you took a course in college that taught C but didn't actually code anything during that course? That doesn't sound right...

Anyway, sure you can start with C++. It can be a tough language for someone with no programming experience, but certainly possible. I'm confused as to how much experience you got from that college course, but if you got some, I would think you could pick up C++ easier than a complete beginner.

I've heard that C# is a really good language to start with

Don't forget to Like the things you like!

Wait, so you took a course in college that taught C but didn't actually code anything during that course? That doesn't sound right...

Anyway, sure you can start with C++. It can be a tough language for someone with no programming experience, but certainly possible. I'm confused as to how much experience you got from that college course, but if you got some, I would think you could pick up C++ easier than a complete beginner.