unreal engine 4 idea help

Cactu

before you read this, some context. i am developing a game in unreal 4. i am very new to game development. this is my idea and i need help.

so i am very new to unreal and i have hopes to make a basic FPS. the only goal that i am trying to acheive is to make every bullet an entity with real time object penetration that effects the bullet. i also woild like the angle of impact and the thickness of the object to be factored in aswell. hance when the bullet goes through an object i would like a visible bullet hole that can be seen through. also if an objects sustains too many holes it will colapse (i know how to work the destruction editor).
thanks for the feedback

@Atmos ?

before you read this, some context. i am developing a game in unreal 4. i am very new to game development. this is my idea and i need help.

so i am very new to unreal and i have hopes to make a basic FPS. the only goal that i am trying to acheive is to make every bullet an entity with real time object penetration that effects the bullet. i also woild like the angle of impact and the thickness of the object to be factored in aswell. hance when the bullet goes through an object i would like a visible bullet hole that can be seen through. also if an objects sustains too many holes it will colapse (i know how to work the destruction editor).

thanks for the feedback

A lot of that could be done within nvidia Physx. As for bullet pen and angle calculation, that is almost definitely gonna be custom.

The holes could be done with a similar system to the new damage model in Star Citizen. 

If you linearly interpolation the texture and a transparency together (A and B in mat editor in UE4) and drive it with a map that is black apart from the hole. The hole would be white causing the lerp to give a transparent hole.

There are other ways of doing this. But this is probably the most power efficient(easiest to run) way.