When I put the PC to sleep, it sort of dies...

Go to solution Solved by RedRound2,

That's not sleep rather hibernate. I presume you click the power button to go to sleep

Sleep: Turns most of the system off, except the RAM for preserving whatever you were doing

Hibernate: Dumps everything that's on the RAM to the OS drive and basically shuts down

Okay, so. It's me again. With my brand new PC... about which I some times feel like returning all the parts and buying a laptop (but then I remember "oh wait, it's expensive")...

So. I've slapped Windows 7 Ultimate x64 on it - the same OS I've been using on my old PC for about 2 years without any problems.

I put the PC to sleep, it dies. The power LED isn't blinking (as it was on the previous PC / as it does on my mom's laptop and my girlfriend's Sony Vaio laptop)... and I can't turn it back on by pressing the power button. I need to cut power for like 3~5 seconds before being able to turn it back on (then it goes to Resuming Windows).

I have a Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 motherboard (Rev4.0). Up until yesterday, I thought it's the BIOS : I disabled the HPET option and realised it sleeps good. Now, 12 hours after, IT DOESN'T.

Any ideas, anyone? :(

That's not sleep rather hibernate. I presume you click the power button to go to sleep

Sleep: Turns most of the system off, except the RAM for preserving whatever you were doing

Hibernate: Dumps everything that's on the RAM to the OS drive and basically shuts down

If it says "Resuming windows" That means that it goes into Hibernation mode. You can have it not do that if you don't want it to.

Spoiler

-

CPU:Ryzen 9 5900X GPU: Asus GTX 1080ti Strix MB: Asus Crosshair Viii Hero RAM: G.Skill Trident Neo CPU Cooler: Corsair H110

I put the PC to sleep via the same way I put my old PC to sleep, and the other two laptops I have access to - Start button -> Shut down arrow to extend the menu -> Sleep.