Dell U3415W, get it reviewed asap!

Chiaki

Greetings,

First I hope the guys at Linus tech tips sees this, because it got me kinda hyped. Dell has annouced their new curved 21:9 U3415W on various sites here in Europe. I did try to check up dell.com and dell.ca, but couldn't find it listed as a product. Hopefully it will show up soon.

I checked stores over here in Europe as well and they have an ETA 10-15th of January 2015.

To me, 4K is still "dead" as a Windows 8.1 user, where text/applications etc. doesn't scale very well and hardware today can't really give you a enjoyable framerate in games at a reasonable price. Same with the monitors, a good 32" 4k IPS panel costs a fortune (I am no pro player or hardcore FPS player, so IPS is clearly the winner for me). And with 8K already announed, I am not sure if 4K will be just a short glimpse, as HD-ready/720P was.. Before Full-HD/1080P took over shortly after.

So I really agree with Linus that 21:9 is currently the most exciting monitor to go for right now. I was just a click or two away from buying 34UC97.. But as LG doesn't have PC monitors covered in my region, meaning if something were to happen to it if I had it imported.. Could lead to consequences for me. I know that LG got monitors covered in USA and Canada, but there are several countries in Europe they are not doing PC monitors. Dell has a much more global coverage here and I know Dell make good IPS/Photo enthusiast monitors (sRGB 99%) as I own a Dell U2711 and I've been loving it for 4-5 years now. It's a 2560x1440 monitor and I think it strikes a perfect balance of DPI and no need to scale as with 4K. And of course the huge advantage of cinematic aspect ratio in movies and games.. Though some games have problems with 21:9.

Dell U3415W is also $500-600 cheaper here in Norway, compared to LGs 34UC97. Also heard rumors that Dell will use the same panel in their U3415W as in 34UC97.. But rumors are rumors.