HP ProLiant MicroServer

Hi, I am going to receive a HP ProLiant MicroServer from a friend, I am not 100% sure on the specs however this isn't unlike this: 

http://louwrentius.com/hp-proliant-microserver-n40l-is-a-great-nas-or-router.html

I want to wipe the device so I can use it for my own files.

I am completely new to this kind of computing so I have lots of questions. What kind of purpose could this device serve? I was thinking maybe a small home server where I could back up my files. Could it be used for more than this or is it limited to only that?

Also what kind of software should I be installing onto it? Would it be completely absurd to install a Windows operating system purely because I know Windows the best or would it be a better idea to try and work my way around a dedicated piece of software?

If anyone could give me some advice, give their input/opinions or answer any of these questions I would really appreciate it, thank you

Load Linux on that bitch and do some webdesign, web hosting, game server hosting, cloud, anything really.

PEWDIEPIE DONT CROSS THAT BRIDGE

Load Linux on that bitch and do some webdesign, web hosting, game server hosting, cloud, anything really.

Awesome, is there any particular distro you would recommend? 

Awesome, is there any particular distro you would recommend? 

I like Debian 7 and CentOS 6.x, either will do but I prefer CentOS a little more.

PEWDIEPIE DONT CROSS THAT BRIDGE

Ubuntu is easier to get the hang of for beginners, that is if you are currently scared of CLIs.

Disclaimer : I might be wrong.

I'm actually deploying one of these as a Domain Controller with Active Directory and a file server for everyones user accounts in a very small IT network (A network which will have a maximum of 12 concurrent users).

Main Machine:  16 inch MacBook Pro (2021), Apple M1 Pro (10 CPU, 16 GPU Core), 512GB SDD, 16GB RAM