Looking for advice on a NAS build

aelen

Hello!

I'm looking to build a NAS myself since the Synology ds12j I'm currently using is full. I realised I'd like a build where I can easily add more disks as needed, rather than having to buy a new NAS every time the previous one gets full.

The only "problem" is that I have never built a NAS before. I have, however, built a few PCs for myself, my brother, my parents and a HTPC which sits at home. So I come here to seek advice on if there's anything specific I should be paying attention to when building a NAS.

Since I don't have a *huge* amount of cash to spend right now, I aim to reuse the case from my old PC (an Antec P183 V3) which I know is not really an ideal case, but I aim to replace it at a later stage.

My idea was to run 2x 4TB WD Reds in a JBOD configuration and running some linux distro off a usb stick on a usb header on the motherboard.

I have been looking around a bit for motherboards, but have not really come to a conclusion about which one would suit this kind of build. Ideally I'd like a motherboard with an integrated cpu and at *least* 4 sata ports.

So... I think that's about all the info I have for now. In terms of budget, I have nothing in mind right now, but I imagine getting a motherboard + cpu + ram combo should be doable for ~150-200 euros (I live in the Netherlands)?

Any advice is more than welcome - hardware as well as software!

Cheers!

Edit: I should add that I aim to use this thing mainly to store movies and series, so I don't feel like I really need redundancy at this point.

Well, to start, Linux is fine, but here are other options as well:

Amahi (Simple, File Server oriented with plugin support; Free.)

FreeNAS (Simple or complex, depends really, has a lot of options, and supports plugins; Free.)

If you can find it, this motherboard is great for a NAS: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157419