MacBook Pro/Air Base Model vs Upgraded

Hey all. 
I am new to MacBook stuff.

I would appreciate if someone could help me to understand, so I could decide what to get. 

I wanna get my self a Pro, so that it would serve me for years to come. 
My future usage is: 

coding

web serfing

maybe latter video editing something not that hard 

what I want to understand, is if the base 8GB and 256 really not good enough ? 

Bigger better at some points, but do I really need that upgrade. 

If I could compare it in performance to my 5800X on samsung 980 pro ssd, with 16 GB ram  who would win ?

I was told that the Apple 8gb is equalent of 16 gb for the normal pc ?! 

CPU - AMD 5800XMotherboard - ROG STRIX B550-E GAMING , Memory  - G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3600 ,

GPU - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti MSI SUPRIM X 12G,  Case - 4000D AIRFLOW Tempered Glass Mid - Tower ATX Case - Black ,

Storage - Samsung 970 EvoPlus 500GB - Samsung 870 EVO 1TB + 6TB HDD,

PSU - Corsair HX1000 , Display -  ASUS TUF Gaming VG27A 165HZ + Dell 24 UltraSharp Monitor , Cooling - Noctua NH-D15 Black , 

Keyboard - Razer Stalker , Mouse - Logitec G502 Wireless , Operating System - Win 10 Pro , 

Sound - Logitech Z906 5.1 THX Surround Sound Speaker System

The issue is, if in the future you want the upgrade, you can't do it. So better to plan ahead.

Apple PCs use memory the same as any other PC, there is no "equivalent," it just comes down to how much you actually use in your day to day tasks. Coding can use a lot or a little depending on what you are doing, video editing usually uses a decent amount. I'd just go for 16 and not have to worry about it. 8 GB on a "Pro" machine is a really unfortunately choice on their end. The only kernel of truth here is MacOS probably uses a bit less memory baseline than Windows but that is not an 8 GB difference.