Why is my Internet speed halved via Port Bridged Modem/Router

I hope I am in the right chat/forum for this.

I recently  upgraded my Internet to Telus Purefibre 1GB.
When I use the Ookla speed test when connected to my Telus Modem direct from my PC, I get close to 1GB up and down.
But when I go through my router (ASUS RT-AC68U) via Port 1 on my Telus Modem and it is set to Port Bridging enabled, I only get about half the speed both up and down?

I have some basic to medium understanding the technology and this is my first time on this or any type of forum but would appreciate help to understand why and how to try to get the answer to this issue.

On the other hand... you have different fingers.

15 minutes ago, Omega7ven said:

But when I go through my router (ASUS RT-AC68U) via Port 1 on my Telus Modem and it is set to Port Bridging enabled, I only get about half the speed both up and down?

Two things:

1) If any QoS or advanced filtering is enabled on the router, it will not handle Gigabit as it needs NAT Acceleration to take the load off the CPU and certain features turn that off (and its not always obvious as it might still be ticked in the UI) as they need to use the CPU to do them.

2) Even with NAT Acceleration, the router might not be powerful enough for Gigabit.

Frustratingly the speeds manufacturers quote on the box, etc, are the theoretical WiFi speeds, not the routing speeds.

Actually a post on SNB forum suggests it can handle Gigabit:

• QoS off
  • LAN - Switch Control
    Enable Jumbo Frame - Disable
    NAT Acceleration - Auto (it shows CTF is enabled)
    Spanning-Tree Protocol - Disable
  • Tools - Other settings
    Memory Management - Yes
    Firewall - No
    Wan - No
    Disable Asusnat tunnel - Yes (extra 10-20mbps)