The Super Playchoice, or: How To Shove An Intel NUC Into A SNES Controller

Way back in spring of 2014 I decided to see if it was possible to shove an Intel NUC inside a Super Nintendo Advance fight stick controller. Back then I documented my progress on a now defunct online form and since its demise I've decided that this content might be entertaining and maybe even borderline helpful for someone else who might want to attempt this themselves.  At the very least you'll get a bit of a chuckle at decades old tech being turduckin'd into even older piece of decades old tech. I also recently got stuck reading some old NES case builds here on the LTT forums and decided it might be time to repost/update this project.   Regardless, I'm bored and waiting for my EK parts order to arrive so I can start documenting my first liquid cooling build...  

Part of my background is Arcade collecting/restoration and this idea stemmed from wanting something to tinker with as I was building my first MAME cabinet "Flynns Arcade" back in the mid 2010's. (I'm also a bit of a content creator on YouTube as one half of The Canadian Arcade) I'm a HUGE Nintendo collector, some of my arcade cabinets are some of the rarest Nintendo ever made: Sky Skipper, Sheriff, a red 5-slot Donkey Kong to name a few. I had always thought it would be nice to have everything from the late 70's to mid 90's all in one place so I could check out arcade/console titles I may be looking at buying in the future, or at the very least have something cool to collect dust in a display cabinet in my home (spoiler alert). I know I could do this with an rPie, but back then the idea was more about putting an actual on Windows PC into the controller then it was to build something like a RetroPi. Plus RetroPi was in its infancy and we were still all using old laptops and PC towers for our MAME builds.