First homelab - Help needed

S7ewie
Hey everyone,

I’m looking for some help building my first server. I’ve been hopping around reddit and various other forums with varying degrees of engagement and quite a range in response. I’m hoping i’ll have more luck here :slight_smile:

I’ve been building my own gaming PCs for about 20 years now but I’ve never built a server so I lack knowledge in hardware requirements.

Fair warning, this could be a long post but I want to try and include as much detail as possible, don’t feel the need to respond to everything :smiley:

Here are my requirements:

• NAS
    • Largely photo & music storage + “some” video
    • Music streaming is a primary focus, I have a large music collection and I’d like to explore options for streaming to other devices (maybe Jellyfin).
    • Potentially “some” media streaming though this is quite low on the list (I don’t mind if I add this later)
    • Space for 4 - 8 drives should be plenty
    • I currently have a small 2 bay Synology NAS that I want to replace with this setup. Partly because I want something more expandable, partly because I want more power and freedom to experiment outside of Synology’s ecosystem.
  • Game servers
    • Likely no more than 2 - 3 servers running at any one time (often times none at all)
    • Mostly looking at hosting games like Minecraft, Rust & DayZ etc using docker containers.
    • Probably max 5 - 10 players
  • Home automation
    • Something relatively new to me but something I want to explore
  • Virtual Environments
    • I’m a software engineer in training so I’d like somewhere to experiment with different OS, maybe host a couple of small websites though I think a lot of this can be done with docker containers these days.