Any suggestions on how to compress gopro footage?

I am looking to heavily compress gopro footage primarily for sharing on discord/whatsapp and storage, the current file sizes range from over a hundred mb to several gb.

I am not very experienced regarding this and only recently bought the gopro, so any help/information/suggestions would be mighty appreciated ^^

If you want to compress a copy of your finished video, Handbrake is a fairly easy to use, free tool. H265/HEVC encoding will take longer than H264, but it will give you smaller files at the same visual quality.

I sold my soul for ProSupport.

46 minutes ago, Needfuldoer said:

If you want to compress a copy of your finished video, Handbrake is a fairly easy to use, free tool. H265/HEVC encoding will take longer than H264, but it will give you smaller files at the same visual quality.

Do you mean h.265 nvenc or?

That is what I can find in handbrake

9 hours ago, MysticDragon said:

Do you mean h.265 nvenc or?

NVENC is the hardware encoder on Nvidia graphics cards. If you've got that available, give it a try.

No matter which encoder you use, always keep your raw footage if you ever plan on going back and re-editing it.

1 hour ago, Needfuldoer said:

NVENC is the hardware encoder on Nvidia graphics cards. If you've got that available, give it a try.

No matter which encoder you use, always keep your raw footage if you ever plan on going back and re-editing it.

What exactly did you mean with h.265 hevc in that case? On the gorpro

What's the best encoder to use on handbrake

1 hour ago, MysticDragon said:

What exactly did you mean with h.265 hevc in that case?

H265 is a video codec.

42 minutes ago, Needfuldoer said:

H265 is a video codec.

I cannot find it in handbrake, hence I am curious, as you mentioned it.

What exactly did you mean ?

2 minutes ago, MysticDragon said:

I cannot find it in handbrake, hence I am curious, as you mentioned it.

What exactly did you mean ?