DaVinci Resolve eats up all available memory, then crashes.

Go to solution Solved by drumn_bass,

A quick update in case someone with a similar issue comes across this topic.

With some help from AMD forums, I now know (tested and confirmed) that the latest beta of Davinci Resolve, version 18.5, works fine with all AMD drivers. An AMD driver 23.4.2 broke something, but apparently an update to Resolve fixes it. So it is a workaround, but there is hope that either one of those companies, or both, can figure out what's going on and get it fixed for good.

Conclusion. Two, not ideal, but working solutions are:

1. Downgrade AMD GPU driver to 23.4.1, or...

2. Download a Beta version of Davinci Resolve (18.5) which works with all AMD drivers at this time, including the latest as of today, 23.4.3.

Hi guys, 

I've been searching around the web for a while, and can't find an answer. I've been using Resolve for a couple of years, and I like it, but I just upgraded my GPU from RTX 3070 to Radeon RX 6950 XT 16GB, a week ago, and trying to work on a new project, I experience a crazy memory leak issue. I also reinstalled Windows 11 with a new GPU, and it's updated to the latest AMD drivers from just a couple of days ago.

I insert one 4K video file, and without any edits, start the playback. I then watch my GPU memory filling up in about 20 seconds (15.8GB fills up at around 500MB/s rate), then it spills over to my system RAM (I have 64GB DDR4 32MHz, with up to 47.5 available to Resolve by default), filling it up at the same rate of around 500MB/s until it reached that 47.5 or so, then video freezes, and a few moments later Resolve crashes. No error messages appear. Just a simple crash to desktop, then the RAM and VRAM instantly dump all of its data and the PC is back to normal,