With CPU Grade How many PCIe Gen 4 Do I Unlock On Motherboard?

Hello everyone!

This is my current build as it is assembled:

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/D2Dj4s

I have an i7-11700K on hand I will soon swap out with the current one (i7-10700k). I know my Motherboard is compatible with a BIOS update. I'm aware this upgrade will unlock the PCIe gen 4 capability of the motherboard.

I'm not tech savvy enough to know how many of those lanes are unlocked with the new CPU, and I also don't know what is meant by PCIe "lanes" though as I understand it to mean where the GPU slots into, and maybe SSD or RAM?

I know that I'll be able to use PCIe Gen 4 GPU's in the future which is good, I want my build to be a long-term arrangement with room for future performance increases in games as I don't use the PC for productivity beyond web browsing and the occasional college assignment.

I know that by upgrading my motherboard with the i7-11700k I can use PCIe Gen 4, but I need your help in scanning the specs and explaining if it means I won't be able to run certain modules while others are running, at PCIe Gen 4 speeds.

Lastly... anyone know if my motherboard supports DDR5 ram? I don't recall it supporting it but would be good to know. You don't need PCIe Gen 4 to run DDR5 ram correct?

(go easy I'm still a new to windows computers lol)

PCIe 4.0 isn't decided by a BIOS update, it's decided by the CPU. The 11th gen chip you're putting in will run PCIe 4.0 on PCIe slots linked to the CPU, in this case PCI_E1 & PCI_E3 - these are usually labeled on the motherboard itself. 

11 minutes ago, Spainz said:

PCIe "lanes" though as I understand it to mean where the GPU slots into, and maybe SSD or RAM?

Literally lanes, like a highway. The CPU has a limited amount, it's shared between all the devices that use PCIe. So GPU, any other devices that use a PCIe slot, an M.2 NVMe drive (an M.2 SATA drive won't use PCIe lanes), etc.