ddr4 vs ddr5 for Workstation and gaming

Hey,

ok, so as a video editor by trade, and gamer by night, I’m upgrading soon and was leaning towards the R9 7950x which, in the first place, would have limited me to only ddr5 ram. However, with the recent announcement of the intel 13th Gen, 13900k, and it being cheaper, having more cores, and being backwards compatible with ddr4 ram, I’m definitely leaning more towards team blue.

But that leaves me with a decision in terms of ram. I don’t know a whole lot about the ram differences other than ddr5 is just faster, so I want to ask, what is the difference between ddr4 and ddr5 in laymans terms, and working mostly with the Adobe CC, would it matter that much performance wise, if I were to save a buck and use the less expensive ddr4 memory? At first glance it doesn’t seem to me that it’s worth an extra $300 to $400. I’ll be getting 128gb, if that helps your response. Thanks! 😁😁

I'd wait for reviews to see how they actually stack up before making a purchasing decision.

CPU: Ryzen 9 5900 Cooler: EVGA CLC280 Motherboard: Gigabyte B550i Pro AX RAM: Kingston Hyper X 32GB 3200mhz

Storage: WD 750 SE 500GB, WD 730 SE 1TB GPU: EVGA RTX 3070 Ti PSU: Corsair SF750 Case: Streacom DA2

Monitor: LG 27GL83B Mouse: Razer Basilisk V2 Keyboard: G.Skill KM780 Cherry MX Red Speakers: Mackie CR5BT

MiniPC - Sold for $100 Profit

Spoiler

CPU: Intel i3 4160 Cooler: Integrated Motherboard: Integrated

RAM: G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3 Storage: Transcend MSA370 128GB GPU: Intel 4400 Graphics

PSU: Integrated Case: Shuttle XPC Slim

Monitor: LG 29WK500 Mouse: G.Skill MX780 Keyboard: G.Skill KM780 Cherry MX Red

Budget Rig 1 - Sold For $750 Profit

Spoiler

CPU: Intel i5 7600k Cooler: CryOrig H7 Motherboard: MSI Z270 M5

RAM: Crucial LPX 16GB DDR4 Storage: Intel S3510 800GB GPU: Nvidia GTX 980

PSU: Corsair CX650M Case: EVGA DG73

Monitor: LG 29WK500 Mouse: G.Skill MX780 Keyboard: G.Skill KM780 Cherry MX Red

OG Gaming Rig - Gone

Spoiler