Hey all,

I am going to start water cooling the components in my PC (CPU & GPU). I was wondering about getting an AIO for my CPU and doing a custom loop on the GPU? Or would it be better to just start with a custom CPU loop and add the GPU in later or do it the other was around and do GPU first then CPU? Im very new to this and it will be my first attempt at liquid cooling so using as much detail as possible for things i need or might consider is really appreciated.

Thanks for the input,

Ryan

If you don't know whether or not you will be cooling your GPU right off the bat, there are products like the Glacer 240L that are designed for this. 

It is an expandable AIO, so if l later on you decide "Hey, I want to liquid cool my Graphics card too" then you can just buy some tubing, compression fittings, and a GPU block and call it a day. Albeit you would probably want more radiator space, it should get the job done just fine. (I mean, the R9295x2 runs on a single rad)

//ccap

I would lean towards just adding the CPU and GPU into a custom loop in one go, especially if you don't have any experience draining and taking apart a custom loop.

If you don't have enough money at the moment, I would suggest starting with the CPU, keeping the stock air cooler on your GPU then adding the GPU into the loop later.

But like I already said, personally I would just go all out and do the whole loop at once.

custom loop, AIO are loud, and are more expensive than air coolers when they don't even perform that well compared to high end air coolers.

The only reason  you ever go AIO is for looks, never for silence. or performance.

CPU: Intel Core i7 2600k | Mootherboard: ASUS P8z68v-Pro | GPU: EVGA GTX780Ti 3GB | RAM: Kingston HyperX Genesis 8GB (4GBx2) 1600mhz | PSU: Corsair AX760 | STORAGE: Samsung 840 Pro 512GB | COOLER: Noctua NH-C14 | CASE: Fractal Design Define R4 Pearl Black | Operating SystemWindows 7 Professional 64-bit |