RTX 3080 problems

mecarry30

Hi everybody - so I just got my EVGA XC3 3080 yesterday and installed it in my system. It was working fine until I tried to do any intensive computing on it, whether that be running  a game - Fortnite, War Thunder, Roblox - or running a benchmark - even Geekbench, which isn't the most demanding one -, where my system just rebooted. I changed the power cable solution from a single 6+2 from the PSU which had a splitter to 2 separate ones and the problem still continued. I've updated my drivers as well. My system specs are:

MSI Z590 motherboard

Corsair RM750 PSU.

I'm not sure how to fix this problem now, since this is my first build and I'm not sure what to do. Should I reach out to Corsair for a replacement? Or is this more likely a GPU problem?

750W should still be plenty for this kind of GPU. It sounds like it could be a few things. It should really only be drawing 450 watts at max. 

Is the Desktop the only thing on that Circuit in the house (besides the Monitor)?

Since you said you updated drivers, what is your power management set to? 

1 hour ago, Shimejii said:

750W should still be plenty for this kind of GPU. It sounds like it could be a few things. It should really only be drawing 450 watts at max. 

Is the Desktop the only thing on that Circuit in the house (besides the Monitor)?

Since you said you updated drivers, what is your power management set to? 

For the first question yes, for the second one it is for performance but in evga precision i set the power limit to 80 and even 70% and it still happened.

1 hour ago, Maverickk007 said:

Do you have two 8-pin connectors to that GPU? (16 pins total)

Yeah, and I used two different sets of PSU cables - initially I used one but I changed that to two.

45 minutes ago, TrigrH said:

Is that a yellow label RM750?

No, the actual text on the PSU on the label is white.

5 minutes ago, mecarry30 said:

No, the actual text on the PSU on the label is white.