oops i got a 3080 ti founders edition

saereo

Budget (including currency): 1250 usd

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: 4k gaming, web browsing, 

Other details (existing parts lists, whether any peripherals are needed, what you're upgrading from, when you're going to buy, what resolution and refresh rate you want to play at, etc): 

I currently use a crappy $500 usd laptop to game and watch twitch. It struggles though to play games like outer worlds and cyberpunk. I went to best buy on restock day to troll the line and ended up with a 3080ti. Now I am looking into putting it into use since I believe upselling is morally evil. I have never built a pc before or know where to start since I prefer laptops for the moveablity over desktops. I would like the best bang for my buck but (being the silly person I am) am looking at 32gb of ram and 5950x processor which most people here I assume would tell me is overkill. Please refrain from roasting me too much for my troll antics and poor position and help me choose the best parts. 

First of all, congrats on getting a card! Pretty tough in today's market even if it was just to troll. The 5950X is not much better (sometimes worst) for gaming and quite a bit more expensive than the 5900X. The 5900X is a really good deal right now and would be the most I would try to "future-proof" for CPU's. Although, cyberpunk can use all those cores, so maybe it might not be too crazy in your use case XD. If you just want to go super premium though, why not? If you can afford it, go for the 5950X with 64 GB of ram. Super overkill for today, but future games will eventually utilize it. It will also be a much smoother experience multitasking with more cores, so that's another thing to consider.

For parts, you can go with something like this (swap the cpu for 5950X if you like, still should work well):

PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 3.7 GHz 12-Core Processor  ($519.99 @ Newegg)