Current/TDP Throttling on 11700k

Ok I have my 11700k running 5.3 and 5.0 all core with 1.43 vcore. The turbo behavior is really weird. It will go up to the specified all core turbo but never higher even on intensive single core applications like cinebench. So what this looks like is even though single core is set to 5.3 I have been unable to get to actually turbo that high. What might be related is that Current/EDP Limit Throttling is active almost all the time even when close to idle like writing this post for instance. All the Turbo power max and Core ICCMAX are all set to max and the package TDP is only like 35-40 when the throttling starts. What is going on? Is this why I am unable to reach max single core frequency. I am new to hardware and OC generally and would appreciate any insight

xtu.PNG

What motherboard and cooler are you using? 

No cpu mobo or ram atm

2tb wd black gen 4 nvme 

2tb seagate hdd

Corsair rm750x 

Be quiet 500dx 

Gigabyte m34wq 3440x1440

Xbox series x

Hey I am using the MSI z590 pro so the cheapest MSI z590 offering. I have a noctua NH-D-15. The cooler seems to be doing good with it only reaching 80 in cinebench with all core 5ghz. I guess I should also mention that the stock XMP profile is unstable and will not post when enabled. So I am using XMP 2 which is why the reference clock is increased from standard

5 hours ago, Sequidle said:

Current/EDP Limit Throttling is active almost all the time

Sometimes if Power Limit 4 is not set correctly by the BIOS, this can cause EDP throttling. It does not look like Intel XTU gives you access to this setting. Exit Intel XTU and try running ThrottleStop.

https://www.techpowerup.com/download/techpowerup-throttlestop/

Click on the TPL button and have a look at the Miscellaneous settings. My Asus board sets Power Limit 4 to 0 which tells the CPU to ignore this limit. If setting this to 0 does not work, try setting Power Limit 4 to the maximum value, 1023.