Rental home network headaches - need some advice.

CaptainPathogenik

Howdy!

I am in desperate need of some help. I recently moved into a 3 story + basement home in Northern Virginia where I have access to Fios, Comcast, and some others I think. Our landlord told us that the house was already setup for comcast so we ran with that but now I'm second guessing it. I'm by no means an expert on this stuff and honestly, I just want to be able to play online games with friends and not have huge ping spikes. I am considering talking to my roommates and seeing if they're down to switch back to Verizon Fios since we are within our 30 day period on the contract, but I'm not even sure if that would fix our problems. The walls and layout in this house make it abysmal for Wi-Fi and Bluetooth to get around and I've tried everything I can think of except just running some cat5 cable from the basement to the second floor and putting in a router or something there to see if that helps. 

My problem is as such: Our access points are only in the basement of the house. We have two, one in the wall in the downstairs living area, and one in the mechanical room. In the mechanical room is a fairly old network switch but when I hooked it up, none of the ethernet plugs around the house would work. I tried having comcast send out a tech to see if any of the other coax outlets around the house worked but the only ones that they said would work were down in the basement. 

Running a speedtest at various points in the house and I get download speeds of 400ish Mbps (in the room with the modem/router) 45 Mbps (first floor) 11 Mbps (second floor) and I didn't bother to test the third floor because nobody lives up there right now. I tested on both my phone and my laptop with basically the same results. 

My potential next steps are: