How good is the i9 7900x

Go to solution Solved by jaslion,
Just now, SLOTHINSPACE said:

Okay i will keep that in mind 
If i choose to stick with my current cpu, do you think it will be good enough for the RTX 3080 ?

It's good enough just keep it. It's plenty good to push 144fps+ or more and it will probably last the entire console generation and still be a pretty decent gaming cpu.

Hello so i am in the market of looking for a new cpu for a RTX 3080, my current build includes a i9 7900x which cost me around 900 pounds back in 2018 i got it along with 64gb of ram when ram prices where very high, along with a high end motherboard so i thought at the time it was a good deal. As of today i would never buy this cpu for gaming which is mostly what i do with some video editing and photo editing of the side. 

My question is with this high end cpu will it be good for gaming for the next couple years, i have been using it fine along with my 1080ti for 2 years. If im going to upgrade gpu im wanting a new case, so im thinking of upgrading the cpu aswell. 

Fom looking at some benchmarks for the price the i9 7900x get beaten by cpus alot cheaper, but as i already have it,. 

Will it be fine for the RTX 3080 For the next 2-3 years?

I am also looking at the i9 10900k which is half the price and amazing a gaming i could sell my i9 7900x and if i had too put money towards a new motherboard as i would be changing for x299

Thank you

5 minutes ago, SLOTHINSPACE said:

My question is with this high end cpu will it be good for gaming for the next couple years

I am no fortune teller.

6 minutes ago, SLOTHINSPACE said:

Will it be fine for the RTX 3080 For the next 2-3 years?

Fot optimal performance i would recommend to upgrade to at least a 12 core Ryzen or a 10 core 10900K.

The high core count Ryzen CPUs are jacks of all trades masters of all - They are great for both gaming and productivity.

And both the 5900X and 5950X are great gaming and productivity CPUs.