Thinking about getting a Model M, any things to know?

ModelM

I recently started learning Colemak and my birthday is coming up soon so I thought that I might treat myself and get a Model M. Any thoughts about buying off of Ebay, if it somehow interferes with colemak, the two key rollover being bad for typing, and the best way to connect it to a USB port. Thanks!

P.S. - I haven't bought anything yet, and want to hear other opinions and tips!

I'm not well versed in it but make sure you are getting confirmation on which one you are buying as there are so many.

You could just get a imitation and get 99% of the experience. From personal use it really isn't that special it just feels like a nice old keyboard and that is really it. About converting to usb and the rollover depends on the variation of the keyboard. I'd just get a nice modern keyboard if I were you.

Just now, jaslion said:

You could just get a imitation and get 99% of the experience. From personal use it really isn't that special it just feels like a nice old keyboard and that is really it. About converting to usb and the rollover depends on the variation of the keyboard. I'd just get a nice modern keyboard if I were you.

Thanks for responding so fast! Can you name any good ones? Also I feel that part of getting a Model M is just like getting a HHKB - Just using real buckling springs on an actual IBM. On the other hand my wallet would be ecstatic with a cheaper one!

eBay is still fairly decent for buying Model Ms from. They are getting pricier and pricier though, so be patient and make use of eBay's saved searches functionality to get email updates on new listings and potentially get to good deals quicker! However, there are some gotchas you'll need to be vigilant of, especially given Model Ms are in fact a huge family of keyboards with many variants and nunances to look out for. As such, I'll outline the basic/most important ones: