From old hardware, a new NAS rises

jimm_eh

Hi all,

I'm a VFX artist, and I'm wrapping up a gig which ate up an unexpectedly huge amount of storage on my current server (a QNAP TSD-453Be with 4x8TB Reds in RAID-10). I still have room, but it got close. It's time for me to split off the work stuff onto its own separate server.

So, the questions I'd like to put to the experts is:

1. What NAS software setup would be best for my given hardware and use case?
2. Or should I spend the $ and build from different hardware entirely?

Use Case:

Dedicated file server ONLY  (No VM's, Plex servers or other server type applications).  
High performance (the closer to saturating 10GbE the better)
High reliability/redundancy
Data will be VFX work.  This would consist of lots of huge files, like 4k sequences (as EXR frames) and Houdini simulation data.

Working Environment: 10GbE network running from a Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S+IN, with 2 Windows 10 workstations and the QNAP plugged in.  The new server gets the last port.

Current hardware:

Big old Cooler Master case with 9 bays (3.5")
Antec Earthwatts 650 PSU from 2010 -- checked the capacitors for any swelling, none found.
MSI H77A-g43 motherboard with an Ivy Bridge 3570k CPU
16GB RAM (32GB max)  No ECC option
LSI Megaraid 9207-8i 6Gbs SAS card (up to 8 SATA drives) ---------->
Mellanox MCX311A-XCAT CX311A ConnectX-3  SFP+ Ethernet ----> these two occupy all slots of usable bandwidth for this purpose.
256GB Sandisk Extreme system SSD (remember Sandforce?)
All with UPS power backup

Available drives:
2 4TB WD Reds from 2015, with about 4 years always-on operation.

2 4TB WD Reds from 2019, with only a few months total operation.

1 4TB HGST Coolspin with about 3.5 years always-on operation.
If I run with these, I'm thinking of picking up 2 more 5400 4TB's to set up 4x2 Raid 6 with 1 spare.

My main question is which NAS software setup would be best for this?