Will an audio interface be sufficient for the HE4XX?

JeffCasual
Go to solution Solved by Ahoy Hoy,
On 12/28/2020 at 9:19 AM, JeffCasual said:

Hi, I'm new to headphones and was wondering whether the Audient Evo 4 is sufficient in driving the HE4XX. I planned on getting the Fiio K5 Pro dac/amp for the HE4XX but realized that I could save a little more money on an xlr microphone being plugged into the Evo 4. If the Evo 4 could power the headphones, would I be missing out when it comes to audio quality if I opt for the audio interface instead of the dac/amp combo?

The Evo 4 is easily powerful enough to run those headphones and has a decent DAC built in so buying any other equipment will probably have no noticeable difference in quality.

headphones- 35Ohms 93dB at 1mw                  EVO4 - at 30Ohms produces 45mW
The slight ohm difference on specs is so small that the EVO4 will easily push these headphones into hearing damage loudness which means its powerful enough.

Anyone who suggests that the Evo isnt good enough are idiots.

Hi, I'm new to headphones and was wondering whether the Audient Evo 4 is sufficient in driving the HE4XX. I planned on getting the Fiio K5 Pro dac/amp for the HE4XX but realized that I could save a little more money on an xlr microphone being plugged into the Evo 4. If the Evo 4 could power the headphones, would I be missing out when it comes to audio quality if I opt for the audio interface instead of the dac/amp combo?

1 hour ago, JeffCasual said:

Yes, for now. But do invest in an amp/DAC for headphones.

PM or DM me if you have any questions about audio.

My PC specs & audio gear

CPU > Intel core i7 14700K, GPU > RTX 4070 ProArt, RAM > Corsair Vengeance DDR5 2x16gb 5600mhz, Motherboard > Asus ROG Strix B760-F, Storage > 1TB M.2  & 500GB M.2 Kingston, Cooling > H150i Elite, PSU > MSI A850GL

🎧Current Audio Setup🎧

Beyerdynamic Tygr 300 R w/ Dekoni Velour as daily driver

Soundblaster AE-9 Soundcard

AKG P420 Mic

Other peripherals