Motherboard Main Connector to PSU (Assistance Please)!

RarestRex

Hey guys! I'm a slight noob when it comes to PC builds. I'm attempting to build my first computer and I found a cooler master 850w gold certified PSU for sale at $100. However, it has an 18 pin cable for the motherboard.. and I'm confused. I thought the MOBO main power connector was 24 pins? Did I get this wrong? 

I'm honestly distraught. I'm getting really tired of all these different PSU configurations. I don't know which standard to believe. I hear there are 28 to 24 pin cables, 18 to 24 pin cables and apparently 24 to 24 pin cables. 

Can someone just assure me this PSU will work for the ASUS PRIME X570-P I plan to purchase? 

1 minute ago, RarestRex said:

I'm attempting to build my first computer and I found a cooler master 850w gold certified PSU for sale at $100. However, it has an 18 pin cable for the motherboard.. and I'm confused. I thought the MOBO main power connector was 24 pins? Did I get this wrong? 

Standard ATX motherboard connector is 24pin

Cooler master power supplies should use 24pin ATX connectors. 

Where are you seeing the 18pin cable?

Which model cooler master power supply is it? If it's a modular power supply is that the end that plugs in to the power supply? It might have an 18+10 connector that plugs in to the power supply side. The additional 4 wires are voltage sense wires.

CPU: Intel i7 6700k  | Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170x Gaming 5 | RAM: 2x16GB 3000MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX | GPU: Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080ti | PSU: Corsair RM750x (2018) | Case: BeQuiet SilentBase 800 | Cooler: Arctic Freezer 34 eSports | SSD: Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 840 500GB + Crucial MX500 2TB | Monitor: Acer Predator XB271HU + Samsung BX2450

4 minutes ago, RarestRex said: