Ryzen 5000 memory layout - 2x8GB vs 4x8GB vs 2x16GB - Single Rank vs Dual rank?

Gamersnexus video on memory config with Ryzen 5000
I saw Steve from GN’s video( on some quite significant performance differences between 2x8GB and 4x8GB performance differences when using Ryzen 5000

They mentioned speaking to Wendell about it and he indicated that 2x16GB of single rank was the best config he has seen. He also mentioned interweaving playing a role (I don’t understand how).

I am curious as to the fundamentals impacting this. Without Wendel’s observation on 2x16GB, I would immediately assume that GN’s observation meaning that Dual Rank memory would be faster that single rank. but I also realized that its normally the opposite.

Should I stick with my 2x16GB memory order?
I have a 5950X with a Aorus Master X570 board and 2x G-skill Ripjaw 16GB 3600mhz CL16 memory on order.

I am doing a mix of IT, media and data production work and some nighttime gaming (usually grand strategy).

I would hate to leave performance on the table, since I am ordering all new parts. Also, if I need to upgrade to 4x 16GB RAM later, would I be seeing a drop in performance and should I rather go with 2x 32GB now?

Anyone else have some more information about this?

I would expect a deep dive video piece from gamers Nexus on this very subject in the next week. Its going to be a huge factor in performance and with the information starting to come out, hes going to want to jump on it while the iron is hot. I would wait until that comes out to make any purchase to get more in depth information. 

Community Standards | Fan Control Software

Please make sure to Quote me or @ me to see your reply!

Just because I am a Moderator does not mean I am always right. Please fact check me and verify my answer. 

"Black Out"

Ryzen 9 5900x | Full Custom Water Loop | Asus Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi) | RTX 3090 Founders | Ballistix 32gb 16-18-18-36 3600mhz