GPU fans grinding when stopping or starting up

SSK-99

Hi everyone. Its been over a month now that I've notice a horrible grinding noise coming from my PC. I only built the system about 3 months ago and it is my first build.

I opened the side panel and narrowed the problem down to the GPU fans making the grinding noise when they are starting up or slowing down (as it increases/decreases over the threshold temp im guessing).

Like I said, only built the system 3 months ago so wouldn't expect component damage at this stage? Can anyone offer any advice as to what to do? Is this normal or should I return the card?

Thanks in advance :)

I had a windforce GTX 1080 that would do exactly that....solution was custom fan curve in MSI afterburner so that the fans won't stop no more....just spin them slow in stead of having them turning on and off.

| CPU: Core i7-8700K @ 4.89ghz - 1.21v  Motherboard: Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING  CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i V2 |
| GPU: MSI RTX 3080Ti Ventus 3X OC  RAM: 32GB T-Force Delta RGB 3066mhz |
| Displays: Acer Predator XB270HU 1440p Gsync 144hz IPS Gaming monitor | Oculus Quest 2 VR

3 hours ago, SSK-99 said:

Hi everyone. Its been over a month now that I've notice a horrible grinding noise coming from my PC. I only built the system about 3 months ago and it is my first build.

I opened the side panel and narrowed the problem down to the GPU fans making the grinding noise when they are starting up or slowing down (as it increases/decreases over the threshold temp im guessing).

Like I said, only built the system 3 months ago so wouldn't expect component damage at this stage? Can anyone offer any advice as to what to do? Is this normal or should I return the card?

Thanks in advance :)