Migration from HyperV to ESXi

Rejhan P
Go to solution Solved by Jarsky,
15 hours ago, Rejhan P said:

I am a 2nd year intern at a small IT service provider company where we currently use HyperV on 3 standalone Virtual Server Hosts at the moment. We don't use SCVMM, but manage the servers and monitor them separately.

FYI you can add VMware to the SCVMM fabric

We are now getting a 4th VSH because we have a new client who insists on using an ESXi hosted server. We want to use the opportunity to restructure our network, cluster the servers together and are contemplating about switching our existing servers ESXi instead of HyperV.

Keep in mind Clusters have to be the same technology to be in the same cluster, for supportings DRS/HA/EVC vMotion etc...

That is to say...if your existing servers are Intel Xeons, and you want to add a new host into a cluster, it also needs to be an Intel Xeon. 

1. How you would go about migrating VMs from HyperV to ESXi?

You can use VMWare vCenter Converter. You can convert physical machines (P2V) or machines from other platforms like Hyper-V (V2V). You can even convert from VMware workstation & fusion. In many cases you can also do a live migration using this tool. 

1. Is it possible to do a live snapshot/recovery of the VM in ESXi like one can in HyperV?

Yup ESXi has snapshot and can Quiesce machines if you install VMware Tools. 

1. Is there a way to create a management/monitoring console without having to buy the vSphere license?

I assume by vSphere license, youre talking about the vSphere suite (vCenter, vRealize, etc...)?

ESXi does SNMP so you could do monitoring via that with something like Grafana or Nagios. 

Management though you'll probably have a harder time with. You could use scripts through PowerCLI , depending on what you can find and your experience with Powershell scripting