New PC Build (High End)

Sabarok

Budget (including currency): $3000 CAD. That's the original budget, written in pencil, a year ago. It's fine if it goes higher. I've picked out some expensive parts, so don't feel like you need to try and pick the cheapest option to fit that total.

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: Single player games & Final Fantasy XIV. It will also be expected to dual-boot into Ubuntu for work related tasks (the only requirement being that the hardware is capable of running. None of my work would call for higher hardware requirements beyond what is needed for gaming).

Other details: I have a 1440p 100hz gsync monitor. I'm all set for other peripherals. This build is solely for the case.

I posted here back in June, and the advice was to wait for new releases coming soon. Great advice, I don't at all regret the wait. With today's announcement of the Zen 3, I think it's time to start more concrete planning.

I'm an experienced builder. The first PC I built was a 486. However, I'm too busy to keep on top of tech news and where the industry is. 7 years ago (early 2014), I asked Reddit for help in building my current PC (with a budget of around $2000). The goal was to have something that would last 4 years, and it's still performing beyond expectations (probably because my GPU died and I replaced it with a GTX 1070). Reddit did a hard sell in convincing me that multi-threaded wasn't the future, that I was wasting money buying a CPU with lots of cores (I disagreed, bought the I7-4770k, and it was the right choice), so I'm coming to LTT in the hopes that the crowd here has a better grasp on where the future in PC gaming might end up. I know it's overkill, but the goal is to buy one machine now, and not need to spend money on upgrades for the next 4+ years.