What is needed for an XLR setup?

Aleksa Djordjic

Hi,

Audio newbie here,

I know nothing about this stuff other than some quick google searches but I'm interested to learn.

First off, let me clarify what I mean by the "XLR Setup", it includes everything between an XLR Microphone and a PC with digital input, what goes in between them.

To start off, here is what I know:

• XLR Microphones need power delivered to them to work properly, for that an AMP is needed with "Phantom Power" that will supply it with the required power.
  • To connect any actual XLR device, an analog to digital converter is needed, which is typically a mixer which, in itself, would have a AMP built into it... preferably

Now, I wasn't able to find much more info about this stuff, or at least keeping it with tech that is affordable for a normal consumer and not some studio
It can't be as simple as that, a mic to a mixer and just going to a PC USB, can it?

There must be some hidden caveats that I don't know about, or components that would make the audio quality better that I'm not aware of

Note, I know what XLR is... kinda... What I don't know is what does it take to connect an XLR device to a normal PC, and to have reasonable audio quality

What is every possible thing (or most) that can be used between an XLR Mic and a PC, what are their purposes and how much do they bring to the table compared to their prices?

What would be an affordable setup (excluding a microphone) to about $100-$150 tops?

I'm planing on upgrading my current basic microphone audio setup

Currently I have a normal mic with a 3.5mm jack, and that is about it.
I'm using a program called VoiceMeeter Potato to do all the virtual mixer audio magic but it has its problems,

so I'm looking to move to a XLR Microphone to hopefully improve on the quality of the current one which has a lot of static and noise and actually picks up quite a bit of electrical noise from the adapters I got on the back of my PC.