About RAM

apocalee
Go to solution Solved by Haro,

1. You can, after the ram is filled up, it can start page filings to the drive.

2. Less load in that certain app, like closing tabs on chrome. 

3. I mean, it should be fine for the most part, "normal student tasks" is a little vague, but assuming it's just light gaming and web browsing, it's fine. 

I'm new to the tech industry. And these questions might be common sense for you guys

1. Can you run out of RAM

2. How can I lower the memory usage of a certain app. example chrome?

3. Is 8gb RAM enough for low duty gaming, and normal student tasks?

Thank you for taking your time to read my question. You probably might be laughing at me rn. :D

1. you can fill up your ram, yes. at that point, the system becomes very slow or unresponsive, until you close some apps to free up some ram

2. you can't. close what you don't need/use. keep less chrome tabs open.

3. it should be, but depends on the user. Chrome eats about 100mb per tab. with 40 tabs open, you already use 4gb of ram. windows uses about 3gb anyway, so you're left with 1gb. if you try to game at that point, with 40 tabs open, you'll have a bad experience.

1. You can, after the ram is filled up, it can start page filings to the drive.

2. Less load in that certain app, like closing tabs on chrome. 

3. I mean, it should be fine for the most part, "normal student tasks" is a little vague, but assuming it's just light gaming and web browsing, it's fine. 

PC: Motherboard: ASUS B550M TUF-Plus, CPU: Ryzen 3 3100, CPU Cooler: Arctic Freezer 34, GPU: GIGABYTE WindForce GTX1650S, RAM: HyperX Fury RGB 2x8GB 3200 CL16, Case, CoolerMaster MB311L ARGB, Boot Drive: 250GB MX500, Game Drive: WD Blue 1TB 7200RPM HDD.

Peripherals: GK61 (Optical Gateron Red) with Mistel White/Orange keycaps, Logitech G102 (Purple), BitWit Ensemble Grey Deskpad. 

Audio: Logitech G432, Moondrop Starfield, Mic: Razer Siren Mini (White).

Phone: Pixel 3a (Purple-ish).

Build Log: