Linux for newbies

Hi there,

I'm a complete newbie to Linux and want to tryout some thing before committing long term. I usually use my PC for web surfing and school stuff, like online class, reports. I'm currently on the fence between Ubuntu and PopOS, but not sure about which one would be most suitable for my needs. So, I would really appreciate your advice, specially my OS selection, newb mistakes or anything you think that might be useful to me.

Again thank you! really appreciate your help!😄

PopOS is effectively Ubuntu with a different desktop environment. 

I would personally recommend Manjaro over both, but it's up to you.

Quote me to see my reply!

SPECS:

CPU: Ryzen 7 3700X Motherboard: MSI B450-A Pro Max RAM: 32GB I forget GPU: MSI Vega 56 Storage: 256GB NVMe boot, 512GB Samsung 850 Pro, 1TB WD Blue SSD, 1TB WD Blue HDD PSU: Inwin P85 850w Case: Fractal Design Define C Cooling: Stock for CPU, be quiet! case fans, Morpheus Vega w/ be quiet! Pure Wings 2 for GPU Monitor: 3x Thinkvision P24Q on a Steelcase Eyesite triple monitor stand Mouse: Logitech MX Master 3 Keyboard: Focus FK-9000 (heavily modded) Mousepad: Aliexpress cat special Headphones:  Sennheiser HD598SE and Sony Linkbuds

🏳️‍🌈

I heard Pop has better driver support and is updated better than ubuntu. Also, because its also based on ubuntu, information and help on both are widely available. 

@kelvinhall05 why would you pick manjaro? (I have never used any form of linux and I am a noob to it just like OP. )

1 minute ago, Saksham said:

I heard Pop has better driver support and is updated better than ubuntu. Also, because its also based on ubuntu, information and help on both are widely available. 

@kelvinhall05 why would you pick manjaro? (I have never used any form of linux and I am a noob to it just like OP. )

I have never had a good experience with Ubuntu (on my desktop and laptop, anyway). It's always been slow, buggy, unstable, etc.