Quick Newb Question: RAID 0 with files contented Hard Drives?

vformula00

I ran out of SATA ports on my motherboard.

I have no experience with RAID or RAID card.

If I get a RAID card and use RAID 0 and attached hard drives with files already inside them, would the card wipe out all my existing files on those hard drives and start new blanks?

If you use a raid card it will wipe all data when you setup a raid array.

You probably don't want a raid card, just get a hba to give more ports to the system. Then you can seutp raid in your os if you want to.

1 hour ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

If you use a raid card it will wipe all data when you setup a raid array.

You probably don't want a raid card, just get a hba to give more ports to the system. Then you can seutp raid in your os if you want to.

For HBA cards with integrated RAID, is there a way of not using the RAID aspect and just use it like JBOD card?

I have no experience with HBA and RAID cards, instead just with JBOD cards. I am use looking at some simple SATA ports x8 Hard drive cards.

3 minutes ago, vformula00 said:

For HBA cards with integrated RAID, is there a way of not using the RAID aspect and just use it like JBOD card?

I have no experience with HBA and RAID cards, instead just with JBOD cards. I am use looking at some simple SATA ports x8 Hard drive cards.

hba normally means jbod, only, so there is no raid.

How about this?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Dell-PERC-H200-6Gb-PCI-e-SAS-SATA-8-Port-Raid-Controller-From-US-Ship/192560383405?epid=28028261775&hash=item2cd57e45ad:g:DMEAAOSwKRBbF7L9

2 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

The items says "Raid Controller" is that ok for JBOD?

14 minutes ago, vformula00 said:

The items says "Raid Controller" is that ok for JBOD?

It will work in jbod mode if you don't setup a raid array, or you can force jbod by flashing the IT firmware on it.

Many raid cards support being flashed with IT firmware which turns them from a Raid into an HBA.