DVI-D GPU output to HDMI monitor compatibility?

Hi, I'm very new to the computer building scene and this topic has been bugging me because of conflicting information on the internet and even several forums

I bought a used Powercolor RX580 with only DVI-D Dual Link output and nothing else; I'm confused whether it will be capable of outputting 1080p 120 hz or 144 hz refresh rate on a monitor with HDMI input (since most monitors will have HDMI anyways)

All other information has been nothing but mix and mash and I rarely see people mentioning about them using a DVI-D output, at least not unless their monitor has a DVI-D input as well

Edited by Nanokillzx33
Clarifications

depending on the resolution which would be anything other than 4k at 120 or 144 hz should be possible via hdmi and display port dvi is older with less bandwidth

There are DVI-D Single Link and DVI-D Dual Link connectors and cables.
You have to make sure to have both a DVI-D DL connector and cable. That can provide 144Hz at Full HD - NOT at higher resolutions!

Datei:DVI Connector Types.svg

1 minute ago, Senzelian said:

There are DVI-D Single Link and DVI-D Dual Link connectors and cables.
You have to make sure to have both a DVI-D DL connector and cable. That can provide 144Hz at Full HD - NOT at higher resolutions!

Datei:DVI Connector Types.svg

Thank you, I forgot to mention that it is a dual link. DVI-D Dual Link to HDMI should be fine then? I've already bought one but I haven't chosen a monitor yet for fear of wasting my money

6 minutes ago, Nanokillzx33 said:

Thank you, I forgot to mention that it is a dual link. DVI-D Dual Link to HDMI should be fine then? I've already bought one but I haven't chosen a monitor yet for fear of wasting my money

Now that I think about it, it might be hard to find an adapter that can do that.
While DVI-D DL can carry 1920x1080 144Hz, HDMI 1.4 cannot and I don't think DVI-D to HDMI 2.0 cables are a thing.

HDMI 1.4 is only capeable of 1920x1080@120Hz.