Hello from Self-Isolation

InitSap

Hi all, I'm InitSap and I'm a long-time viewer of LTT and associated channels. I'm based in the Scotland and I'm currently on day 4 of self-isolation for coronavirus (yay)

I'm a software guy - I have a great understanding of how Windows and Linux work and I've done a fair bit of programming (all in my spare time, never done it as a proper "job" though I've done some casual work here and there)

However, I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to hardware cause I just haven't kept up with it very well (besides watching LTT). I used to understand it a lot better back when the end-user had to deal with it a lot more - I remember installing Debian on a ThinkPad E43 and spending 2 hours troubleshooting its refusal to detect the Broadcom ethernet chip 😂

I'm considering going for my first custom rig at some point this year, so I thought it'd be a good time to register here!

5abd1e80a85c1_HelloThere.jpg.348ef61d4984a96e1d032e11c4b6395a.jpg

† 

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
    That mark our place; and in the sky
    The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
    Loved and were loved, and now we lie,
        In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
    The torch; be yours to hold it high.
    If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
        In Flanders fields.

Cry havoc and let slip the Togs of war.  (Signature V3)

If you want me to reply, tag me @Tog Driver, Or quote me.

The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Spirit be with you all.
‭‭II Corinthians‬ ‭13:14

Hi! Welcome to the forum. Remember to read the Community Standards, which are kind of like the rules of the forum. Doing so will make your stay that much nicer for you and everyone else involved, thank you~. 😆