Gaming PC Donation Ideas and Sources

Deceptikhan42

Hi Everyone,

I'm working with my son to build a PC (actually its turned out to be more than one) in order to donate to local kids whose families are not able to provide them with the glorious opportunity to be part of the PC Master Race. You'll have to read the post on reddit below as it started out as him asking for a PC but it was actually so he could donate it. He just didn't think I would be onboard. Anyway, we have started taking donations through reddit and FB marketplace and I have purchased some items (or at least paid for shipping on some others). So this thread has two purposes:

1) Any ideas what might be good cheap parts? I feel like a saw a video of someone using old server Xeon chips and what not but I'm relatively new to the PC building game (only 1 credit to my name).

2) If anyone has any recommendations for sources of parts, please let me know. We'd love to build as many as possible.

Cheers.

For more information and to join in the conversation, find our thread under the subreddit of CanadianHardwareSwap and search for Niagara, ON

Edited by wkdpaul

look at old ddr3 prebuilts and throwing in like an rx 570

it will be substantially cheaper than building your own.

contact the seller about extra pcie cable on the psu

AMD blackout rig

cpu: ryzen 5 3600 @4.4ghz @1.35v

gpu: rx5700xt 2200mhz

ram: vengeance lpx c15 3200mhz

mobo: gigabyte b550 auros pro 

psu: cooler master mwe 650w

case: masterbox mbx520

fans:Noctua industrial 3000rpm x6

39 minutes ago, scuff gang said:

look at old ddr3 prebuilts and throwing in like an rx 570

it will be substantially cheaper than building your own.

contact the seller about extra pcie cable on the psu

ok thanks. How old is too old in your opinion? i7-47xx?

1 minute ago, PositiveRaisin2 said:

I am using a 4700 and Its still ok for gaming

Ok so that's helpful. so maybe avoid 4th gen i5's then?

2 minutes ago, Deceptikhan42 said: