GNU Nano old AF?

I am a super noob with linux type stuff, but I have a really dumb question I don't know how to google and don't understand. Why is the nano text editor so old in "new" Ubuntu and even Raspbian distro's.

For example, I have a few Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS vm's, and they have GNU Nano 2.9.3, and I have a Raspberry pi running Buster lite, and that is running GNU Nano 3.2 and my Macbook on newest Catalina is 2.0.6. Uh, what. Why. Does it super matter, no, not really. But why can't I apt-get update these in the debian (Ubuntu and Raspbian) environments? This may not even be the correct question, but I just don't understand why this is or where to look.

Thanks!

Rig: i7 13700k - - Asus Z790-P Wifi - - RTX 4080 - - 4x16GB 6000MHz - - Samsung 990 Pro 2TB NVMe Boot + Main Programs - - Assorted SATA SSD's for Photo Work - - Corsair RM850x - - Sound BlasterX EA-5 - - Corsair XC8 JTC Edition - - Corsair GPU Full Cover GPU Block - - XT45 X-Flow 420 + UT60 280 rads - - EK XRES RGB PWM - - Fractal Define S2 - - Acer Predator X34 -- Logitech G502 - - Logitech G710+ - - Logitech Z5500 - - LTT Deskpad

Headphones/amp/dac: Schiit Lyr 3 - - Fostex TR-X00 - - Sennheiser HD 6xx

Homelab/ Media Server: Proxmox VE host - - 512 NVMe Samsung 980 RAID Z1 for VM's/Proxmox boot - - Xeon e5 2660 V4- - Supermicro X10SRF-i - - 128 GB ECC 2133 - - 10x4 TB WD Red RAID Z2 - - Corsair 750D - - Corsair RM650i - - Dell H310 6Gbps SAS HBA - - Intel RES2SC240 SAS Expander - - TreuNAS + many other VM’s

iPhone 14 Pro - 2018 MacBook Air

you will have to ask the package maintainer. Its likely they have more important things to do. Ubuntu has a lot of old versions of software in its repos. To get the latest you will have to go to the software's website/git hub and you will likely need to compile from source.