Small business server solution (storage and raid config)

wescom_agcs

Hi all, 

I'm working for a pharmacy that is looking to upgrade their old server and they've asked me to help them out. I've been looking into the lenovo thinkservers but I'm not sure what would be the best storage or raid configuration for it. The server will be running an sql server database and several other tasks like data backups, file sharing, and some light web services. There are about 10 clients each with several apps which the database will serve. Most of the data is sensitive and mission critical which means that if there's a failure we must recover the data as fast as possible. Cloud solution is not an option since the internet is not very stable. If you need more clarifications, please ask. I'm fairly new to something like this so any suggestions would be much appreciated. 

Thanks

Do you have a MSP? Id probably get someone in that knows what there doing here, esp when there is a business that needs this.

Whats your backup solution?

What os are you running? Id get a hypervisor and run it off there.

How much storage do you need? Id go ssd for as much of it as you can.

22 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

Do you have a MSP? Id probably get someone in that knows what there doing here, esp when there is a business that needs this.

Whats your backup solution?

What os are you running? Id get a hypervisor and run it off there.

How much storage do you need? Id go ssd for as much of it as you can.

Our backup solution is through a software that backs up the data to an external device. This is done manually and automatically through a task schedule. We also have a daily cloud backup with azure. 

This server would be running windows server 2016 STD. 

We would need at least 1TB for now. What would be a good server grade ssd and what raid configuration would you suggest? We really need some redundancy and security here. 

Thanks!

24 minutes ago, wescom_agcs said: