"Gaming laptop" versus "non-gaming" laptop

So I'm pretty new to the world of PCs and laptops. I'm going off to college, and I was wondering if a laptop that's oriented towards gamers would perform as well when compared to a laptop that's meant more for the typical person. Specifically, I was looking at the zephyrus ga502 (gaming) and the dell inspiron 4k (non-gaming). I figured that because they're both *relatively* similar prices, than I might as well go for the zephyrus so I can game on it, as well as use it for school work. Does my rationale make sense, or would the zephyrus  be ill-suited for classwork? 

'gaming' doesn't really mean anything, it's just for marketing.

you can get regular work oriernted laptops that game just fine because they have a dedicated gpu, and you can get 'gaming' laptops that do literally the exact same that regular laptops can do.

Instead of paying attention to the marketing go look at the specs list and read reviews.

NEW PC build: Blank Heaven   minimalist white and black PC     Old S340 build log "White Heaven"        The "LIGHTCANON" flashlight build log        Project AntiRoll (prototype)        Custom speaker project

Spoiler

Ryzen 3950X | AMD Vega Frontier Edition | ASUS X570 Pro WS | Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB | NZXT H500 | Seasonic Prime Fanless TX-700 | Custom loop | Coolermaster SK630 White | Logitech MX Master 2S | Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Pro 512GB | Samsung 58" 4k TV | Scarlett 2i4 | 2x AT2020

47 minutes ago, jkbergner said: