CPU Socket Replacement

So, I recently discovered a method for rescuing motherboards, with broken pins.
There's a way to remove the socket of a motherboard, and replace it with a new One. There are many tutorials on how to do this, with a heat gun, flux and a soldering iron.

I'd love to hear an opinion on this topic from you guys, what I've heard by now is, that it's not worth it for cheap motherboards, but High End Motherboards are worth going through the whole process.

I'm currently trying to rescue an ASRock x79 Extreme 11 Mainboard by replacing the Socket, This is my first time doing something like that so I'm quite excited.

I'd certainly be interested, if Linus did a Video on that topic.

maxresdefault (1).jpg

this is something a very experienced person does who has mounted and repaired several surface components. Not something you attempt on your first try.

and by "expensive boards" they usually mean boards or cpu cards that cost thousands not a 100$ board

10 minutes ago, TheCursedOne said:

t I've heard by now is, that it's not worth it for cheap motherboards, but High End Motherboards are worth going through the whole process.

got all the tools, same method. and 3x dead phones reqired reballing, none survived........

2 minutes ago, dgsddfgdfhgs said:

got all the tools, same method. and 3x dead phones reqired reballing, none survived........

But reballing is a complete different story.

As Louis Rossmann said, that Reballing is bullshit, because the chip itself is dead in most cases.

1 minute ago, TheCursedOne said:

As Louis Rossmann said, that Reballing is bullshit, because the chip itself is dead in most cases.

yeah sort of,but the skills and technique are same  

9 minutes ago, emosun said:

this is something a very experienced person does who has mounted and repaired several surface components. Not something you attempt on your first try.

and by "expensive boards" they usually mean boards or cpu cards that cost thousands not a 100$ board