DIY Triple Screen Desktop Setup

DezGalbie

I've started planning out a little project for myself. I want to salvage some display panels from broken laptops (hopefully on the cheap) and use them to create a triple screen desktop setup for my PC.

I've never done this kind of thing before so there are some questions which hopefully someone more knowledgeable can help with!

From what I understand, I would need to source specific controller boards for the specific model(s) of panels being used in the setup. So I need to know which exact model of panel(s) I'm aiming to source. I would like 1080p minimum (the higher the refresh rate the better). Does anyone have any recommendations for a model of panel to use (keeping in mind that the more laptops there are out there with that panel the better, due to the ease of being able to source a broken laptop which uses that panel). Essentially I'm looking for a model of 1080p panel that has been used in a very popular model of laptop, or that has been used in lots of different models of laptops.

Also, if the panels use 12v power, am I correct in saying that I would be able to power them via USB by using one of these to convert the 5v USB power to 12v, as long as the panels do not draw more current than can be safely supplied by the USB port (which I think is 2A, right?)?

Any advice is appreciated :)

It's not really worth it.

You have to buy controller boards separately, deal with power supply issues etc

You can buy older LCD monitors for very cheap, and simply take out the processor board and the panel and remove the plastic case and the power supply board.